Incentives come in the form of cost share payments, annual payments, and/or easement values that serve to offset the initial cost of what is usually a long term forestry investment. Several cost sharing and incentive programs are available to help Georgia landowners meet forestry management goals:

Statewide Programs

  • Southern Pine Beetle Cost Share Program (SPB)
    • The purpose of the SPBP is to help landowners implement various silvicultural practices that will prevent (or minimize) impacts of southern pine beetle infestations, restore healthy, more beetle-resistant forests, and suppress current beetle infestations.
  • Invasive Plant Control Program (IPCP) 
    • A program administered by GFC and funded by the U.S. Forest Service. Forestry practices covered include the use of herbicides (or a combination of mechanical and herbicide treatments) to eradicate nonnative, invasive plants. The purpose of the Invasive Plant Control Program (IPCP) is to promote healthy forests by eliminating nonnative, invasive plants. If left unchecked, lands occupied by these plants become unproductive and native flora (and fauna) can be completely displaced.
  • Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP)
    • Forestry practices covered include prescribed burning, site preparation & tree planting, pre-commercial & commercial thinning, road stabilization, and wildlife management practices.
  • Conservation Reserve Program (CRP)
    • A cost-share and rental payment program of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).
  • Conservation Stewardship Program (CSP)
    • A cost-share that is targeted to producers who maintain a higher level of environmental stewardship.
  • Emergency Forest Restoration Program (EFRP)
    • A cost-share that helps the owners of non-industrial private forests restore forest health damaged by natural disasters.
  • Healthy Forests Reserve Program (HFRP)
    • Forestry practices covered include practices that enhance or increase habitat for threatened and endangered species. Contract lengths are 10-year or 30-year agreements to permanent easements.
  • Partners for Fish and Wildlife Program (PFW)
    • Forestry practices covered include stream restoration, livestock exclusion, restoring native vegetation in uplands, planting longleaf pine and establishing native ground cover.
  • Wildlife Incentives for Nongame and Game Species (Project WINGS)
    • This program is eligible to landowners, leaseholders, hunting clubs, wildlife organizations, government entities, and others committed to managing right-of-ways for wildlife. Eligible right-of-ways include: Georgia Power, Georgia Transmission, MEAG Power, Savannah Electric, and AGL Resources.

Region Specific Programs

  • Huber “Trees for Georgia” Program
    • Huber Engineered Woods LLC has donated $25,000 to fund the purchase of pine seedlings to be planted within the following counties: Banks, Barrow, Clarke, Elbert, Franklin, Greene, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Hart, Jackson, Lincoln, Lumpkin, Madison, Morgan, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Stephens, Taliaferro, Walton, White and Wilkes. The funds will be used to purchase GFC seedlings, which will be given to qualified landowners.
  • One Tree Planted – Reforestation Program
    • One Tree Planted is providing funding to assist private landowners in North Georgia (Regions 1 & 2) with reforestation expenses. The funds will be used to reimburse approved landowners $100/acre on eligible reforestation practices.
  • Shortleaf Pine & Oak Restoration in the Georgia Cumberlands Cost Share Project
    • The Shortleaf Pine & Oak Restoration in the Georgia Cumberlands Cost Share Project is intended to help promote shortleaf pine and shortleaf pine/oak ecosystems.
  • South Georgia Landscape Restoration Cost Share Project
    • GFC is partnering with the National Fish and Wildlife Foundation (NFWF), Georgia Department of Natural Resources (DNR), Southern Company, American Forest Foundation (AFF) and the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) to implement a landscape-level project in 19 counties in southern Georgia. Eligible counties include Appling, Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Decatur, Evans, Glynn, Grady, Liberty, Long, Macon, Marion, McIntosh, Mitchell, Talbot, Tattnall, Taylor, Toombs and Wayne.